The Gift is in the Giving ~ How to Fold an Origami Gift Box

ImageI don’t know about you, but I had the best Mother’s Day ever. Among the many wonderful things that I shared with my family over that weekend, was a bracelet that my son Nick gave to me, within a beautifully folded origami box. I really couldn’t decide which I liked better, as the bracelet was gorgeous. But thinking about it still, it’s the love that went into the box itself that I treasure the most.

So, I’m bringing you a little snippet of gift giving goodness for those of you who are crafty enough to rise to this challenge.

Here are the instructions for folding a 6-sided woven origami box.

http://snapguide.com/guides/make-an-origami-cube/

Do NOT be dismayed! You only need 6 equal sized pieces of paper. And a little patience. Once you get the first piece folded, repeat 5 times and link them together to form a cube.

ImageThere are many easier versions of a folded origami cube, but the finished version of this woven style is just divine – it looks like a sculpture when it’s completed. Also, you can open one panel and still leave the box intact, ready to gift again!

I liked this little origami box so much that I built a Pinterest board around it. If you’re interested, here’s more folded examples to try for your lucky friends! This cube can be folded at 1/4 scale to make earrings and jewelry.

See more examples here at eCrafty.com’s Origami Gift Box board: http://pinterest.com/ecrafty/gift-boxes-~-origami-cubes/

And if you need something to fill your lovely gift box, visit us at eCrafty.com for beads and craft supplies (things you might make to put inside your creation)!

Save 20% monthly ~ subscribe to our our e-newsletter here!

See the latest issue of our latest newsletter here

Have FUN and happy creating (and gifting) from all of us at eCrafty.com! (pictured: my 4-legged daughter)……

Leave a Reply

